Fresno Criminal Lawyer Blog
Sep 04, 2019
Category: Traffic Crimes
One of the most frequent charges we see is hit and run driving. Vehicle Code section 20002 covers the situation where there was just property damage. This still falls under the umbrella of being a misdemeanor offense and can carry a stiff penalty of up to 180 days and jail. Read more for tips to avoid being charged with hit and run offenses.
Aug 21, 2019
Being without a license can have repercussions that affect nearly every aspect of your life - from being able to get back and forth to work and taking your kids to school, to other everyday activities like getting groceries and making it to the doctor's office. Under California law, you are entitled to a DMV hearing where you can contest or fight the suspension of your license But you have to act quickly - you must request your hearing within 10 days of your arrest.
Category: DUI News
California is best known for its tourist traps, sandy beaches, and vibrant night scene. Yet, tourists and locals alike have expressed irritation over the "early" closing hours of the state's bars and nightclubs. In response to their outcries, state legislators are once again considering a bill that would allow establishments to stay open until 4 AM.
Jul 05, 2019
Officers are aggressively serving and arresting defendants for bench warrants and jail warrants (for not doing required community service). They can show up to your home or place of work. Sometimes its also at a very inconvenient time, like right before Thanksgiving or Christmas. Instead of cozying up next to the fireplace, you could be cozying up next to your new cellmate. So, how can outstanding warrants happen?
If you're being tried in court for a DUI, you'll need to have a strategy. Working closely with your criminal defense lawyer can help you to come up with one. Your lawyer will be able to tell you what all your choices are and whether you should plead guilty or not guilty. Even if you do plead guilty, it may be possible for you to get a reduced sentence. Or it may be possible for you to make a deal with the prosecutor's office. There are many options open to you as the defendant.
Jun 05, 2019
Being charged with a crime is a very scary and confusing time. You may or may not be guilty of the alleged crime(s). The evidence may be shaky, hard to understand, or completely false. It is also not unheard of to have additional charges tacked on in an effort to give leverage to a prosecutors plea bargaining practices. If you or a loved one has been charged with a crime, chances are you've heard the words plea deal floated around a few times and you may be wondering if a plea deal is in your best interest.
As of 2019, there are new laws on the books for DUI offenders. Californians charged with DUIs will be required to install an interlock device in their vehicles. What does this mean for offenders convicted of a DUI?
May 08, 2019
If you are in trouble with the law, you are probably confused. The legal system is quite complicated, especially because there are several different levels of offenses in California. While infractions are considered small, petty offenses (e.g. speeding tickets), misdemeanors are more serious charges. Even a small misdemeanor offense can lead to being placed on probation and a life long blemish on your record.